Day 2: Freedom Basics

Freedom Header
“You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” –John 8:32

Lies about God

In Genesis 3, we have a clear picture of how the enemy works in our lives. The enemy assaulted Adam and Eve’s relationship with God. The enemy lied about what God said to Adam and Eve in an attempt to destroy their relationship with God. Their story forever changed as they exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and darkness entered their lives. They responded to their brokenness in the same way we often respond to our brokenness. Adam and Eve hid from God and tried to cover up their guilt and shame with fig leaves (Genesis 3:7).
God could have left Adam and Eve to suffer in their guilt and shame, but He called them out of hiding, out of darkness and into the light of His presence. Instead of rejecting Adam and Eve in their sin, God embraced them. This is exactly what God did for us through the Cross. He embraced us in our sin with His great love, covered us with the blood of Jesus and delivered us out of darkness into His light (Romans 5:8, Colossians 1:13).
Jesus describes Satan as “a liar and the father of all lies.” (John 8:44). The enemy’s first lie to Adam and Eve was about God and he saw the devastating consequences of that lie. An important lesson we can learn from Adam and Eve’s story is that:
  1. The enemy (Satan) lies to us about God
  2. We need to recognize the enemy’s lies
  3. We need to reject the enemy’s lies.
Along with lies from the enemy about God, another problem many of us have in relating intimately with God is the result of unhealed and unresolved wounds from our past. Our wounds are opportune times in our lives for the enemy to lie to us because the lies feel real – they often match the pain of our emotions or painful experience. Over time, we believe these false images or perceptions about God to be true.  Simply put, we believe the lies and Walls are created in our relationship with God.

Your Story

The following are common lies we believe about God. Ask God to help you identify any of these lies you may believe about Him.
    God is disappointed in me.
    God is not good.
    God doesn’t really care about me.
    God doesn’t delight in me.
    God is not pleased with me.
    God wants to punish me.
    God needs me to earn His approval.
    God loves others more than He loves me.
    God is not really present in my life.
Ask God to reveal any other lies you believe about spiritual warfare.
Which of these lies have caused the most pain in your life?

Freedom Prayer

Father, my relationship with you has been wounded by these lies I believe about you. The lies have kept me from trusting you completely, receiving the depth of your love for me and kept me from experiencing a deeply intimate relationship with you. Lord, I’m so sorry for believing lies about you. I need to be set free from every lie I believe about you. My heart needs to be healed of the hurt these lies have caused me. Father, take my heart and heal it. Uproot the lies from the soil of my heart and remove them completely from me. Break the power of these lies off of my life and set me free. I choose to believe what your Word says about you.
I accept your great love for me and your powerful grace!  
In Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a comment